522 total views,  4 views today


The Chairman of the Association of Medical Laboratory Scientists of Nigeria (AMLSN) Lagos State Branch, Mr Omoyemi Abioye commended the people for supporting his executive members. This was contained in the speech delivered by him during the Association’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Thursday, 29th November, 2023 at the Conference Hall of the Federal Neuropsychiatric Hospital Yaba.

He went further to enumerate the achievements of his Executive members within one year in the office and also used the opportunity to inform the members of the activities of the National body in Abuja during the National Conference of AMLSN.

Other reports were read by the Secretary, Auditor and the Financial Secretary.

A lecture titled “Cooperative Governance and Management: Exploring the Roles and Responsibilities of the Cooperative Leaders and Managers in ensuring the Success and Sustainability of Cooperative Societies” was delivered by Mr Oluwaseyi Olayinka Akande, the Manager, Medical, Lagos Island Multipurpose Cooperative.

In his response to the call for other matters arising, the former National President, Dr Toyosi Yekeen Raheem commended the Lagos delegates for commitment and the support for the position of the region. He congratulated AMLSN Lagos for winning the post of the National Vice President, South West. He went further to advise that the office should be used to foster unity among the members in the region and that it should not be used for personal aggrandizement.

Mrs Kemi Lawal, the former Chairman LUTH/ CMUL/UNILAG Chapter observed that the state should re-strategize to increase the numbers of delegates in the state knowing fully the state has many financial up to day members.

The Association recognized the contributions of some of her members and chapters.

Mrs Onyiuke Chinekwu and Mrs Tesleemat Davies-Folorunsho were presented with the awards in appreciation of their uncommon and consistent excellent service delivery to the Association.

Two chapters of the Association, Oshodi-Isolo led by Mark Doris Chinelo C. and Lagos State Civil Service, led by Mrs Munirat Owodunni received awards as the Most Supportive Chapters of the year.

Present at the occasion were the former National President of AMLSN, Dr Toyosi Yekeen Raheem, Dr Wale Oladubu, the former Chairman of Lagos AMLSN, Directors Medical Laboratory Service, National Orthopedic Hospital Igbobi. Mr John Adagbasa, Federal Medical Center Ebute Metta, Mr Victor Olusola Ojedapo, Lagos State Health Service Commission, Mrs Olufunmilayo Adeyinka Egbuna, Chairman GMLD Lagos, Adekoya Abimbola Julius, Chapters Chairmen and the National President of the Association of Female Medical Laboratory Scientists of Nigeria AFMLSN, Mrs Yomi Juliana Newton. The Lagos State Chairman of Young Medical Laboratory Scientists of Nigeria, Mr Shehu Okanlawon.