7,838 total views,  4 views today


The National Secretarial Headquarters of the Association of Medical Laboratory Scientists of Nigeria (AMLSN) was commissioned on the 18th November 2023 by President Ahmed Bola Tinubu GCFR.

The National President of the Association, Prof. James Garba Damen took the audience round the story of how the dream to have a house became a reality. According to him, the land was acquired during the regime of Dr Toyosi Yekeen Raheem in 2016. Dr Raheem’s administration handed the property at a lintel level of the 1st floor of the building, to the administration of Dr Bassey Enya Bassey.

Prof. Damen was delighted that his administration completed the project.

He went further to inform the gathering that the building has guest rooms which could help solve members’ needs whenever they are in Abuja and will also help in generating funds for the Association.

He commended the efforts of the past Presidents, Board of Trustees, Board of Fellows and the elders of the profession for their unwavering supports.

Besides, he added that his administration would be doing a groundbreaking ceremony of another landed property that is proposed to be the Association’s Diagnostic and Research Institute.

President Tinubu who was represented by the Special Adviser to the President on Health, Dr Salma Ibrahim Anas commended the Association for embarking on such gigantic edifice solely from their members’ contributions. She promised the support of the President to the Association. She equally advised other associations to take a clue from the progressive moves of AMLSN.

Thereafter, the house was commissioned and the groundbreaking ceremony of the proposed research institute was equally done by the representative of the President.

The peak of the ceremony was the conferment of the Honorary Fellow of the Association on Dr Salma Ibrahim Anas.

Present at the occasion were former Presidents of the Association, Prof. Dennis Agbonlahor, Prof Anthony Emeribe, Dr Toyosi Yekeen Raheem, Chairman, Board of Fellows, Chief Bona Nlemadim, President, Female Medical Laboratory Scientists of Nigeria (FMLSN), Mrs Yomi Newton, President, Guild of Medical Laboratory Directors (GMLD), Prince (Dr) Elochuckwu Adibo, Provost, Federal College of Medical Laboratory Science and Technology Jos, Prof. Sunday N. Etukudoh, Air Commodore Edward Akinwale and former member, House of Representatives Hon. Kunle Jenrade.